Poem – Today might be my Wedding Day

Today Might be my Wedding Day

I don’t know how, or when, or why
But I feel that I must kiss the sky
In a last attempt to contact my love
Despite all the shit she’s thrown from above
For today might be my wedding day

Its quite unusual, that is true
To make an appeal that I might rue
But love is love and knows no bounds
Despite the unleashing of legal hounds
For today might be my wedding day

I dont know why and care even less
That this appeal may cause some stress
To me especially at a guess
It really could land me in quite a mess
But today might be my wedding day

Its not that I’m forgetful and missed my chance
To glory in life’s better dance
Two souls as one and quite entwined
No complex details, unrefined
For today might be my wedding day

A silly omission set us apart
No real biggie, but it tore her heart
And now I must really play my part
To get wrongs righted, and try to restart
For today might be my wedding day

I know what you’re thinking, I think it too
Here’s one crazy loony, with a loose screw
Yet if you were in my place, what would YOU do
For today might be my wedding day

I really dont know how this poem will end
Will she still be an enemy, or can we refriend?
10 years is a long time, its a shame not to mend
A friendship broken, which I thought would never end
For today might be my wedding day

copyright Ian Cropton 21 June 2015

3 comments

  1. AndiPandi · June 21, 2015

    Amazin tks man love 4 ever! x

    Like

    • eeyorn the space donkey · June 21, 2015

      Hey Andi, Glad to see you here, hope all is well with you. I’m glad you liked the poem, praise from a true wordsmith like yourself is very gratifying.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Mad dogs and Englishmen | eeyorntails

Leave a Reply

