My God – part one

Regular readers of this blog  (thank you, both of you) will perhaps have realised that many of my blogposts are tied to a favourite song and in fact its often thinking of the song that sparks off the blog. Other times I know what I want to write about, and then a quick search of the memory banks reveals an apposite song title.

This one takes its inspiration from the mighty pen and genius of Ian Anderson, aided and abetted by the superb musicians that were Jethro Tull.

The basic idea is a Jungian technique which I learned about during or shortly after a period of counselling following my 2nd nervous breakdown around 2005.

Basically, you collect together images and symbols that resonate with you, for whatever reason. And then you paste them all into or onto a document(which can then be cut up physically if necessary), in order to make a card with each symbol. And then you ‘throw the cards on the table’, either physically or virtually, and sort them according to how your mood takes you. Its very interesting the thoughts this process can inspire, I found. Its not a technique I’ve used since those days about 10 years ago. Its similar in many ways to the I-Ching, the Tarot, and the Norse ‘reading the rune-stones’, all of which I had also dabbled with and found useful

I should say at the outset here, I consider myself at this point in time, a citizen of earth, a member of humanity, and one who considers that there are many paths to Godhood.

My mother was quite a strong Church of England(or Anglican) adherent and I and my brother and I were subjected to the basic tenets of Christianity at Sunday School and in our little angelic world it seemed like a good set of rules to live by and one which all of my family, including myself, has continued to live by. You might call us Orthodox Christians.

You know, the ones that believe that Jesus’s teachings are the core strength of the religion,

and are therefore the main traits to try to master: Stuff like being kind to people, gladly helping others out, being tolerant of others differences and in actual fact learnng to love those differences and the different people, learn all kinds of good new stuff from them, and teach all kinds of good new stuff to them, all resulting in society all growing in a good way, and which means we all get towards our Godhood that much quicker as a result.

Unfortunately, my whole family’s attitude to Christianity was somewhat conflicted when my younger brother was killed in a freak road accident when I was 9 and he was 7, and my father and I took the view that no Christian God would allow that to happen, therefore He cannot exist, and that was my prevailing view for much of my adult life.

Jethro Tull – My God
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6rGVMyvPPco

Leave a Reply

