Poem – Now that the talking’s over

Featured image

Avebury Stone Circle, Wiltshire

I got dumped by my fiancee about 3 weeks ago. We’d known each other for 10 years and I considered her my best friend and Soulmate. We were due to be Handfasted at the Beltane celebrations at Avebury this coming May. Handfasting is the pagan marriage ceremony. This poem arrived about a week ago.

Now that the talking’s over

I wander lonely as a cloud
And try my best to lift the shroud
Of darkness that envelopes me

Just two weeks ago I loved and laughed
As my love and I enjoyed a draught
Within a local hostelry

Then back to my place for a night of passion
But first some mead then got some hash on
We both enjoyed our reveries

So off to bed and feeling mellow
Cuddles and kisses and feeling swell
O let us meet our destiny

But she said no and I said yes
Which seems to have caused her some distress
Though there was no physicality

Before I knew it she’d upped and gone
I spoke to her a couple of days on
But failed to make an apology

For things got ugly, I got mad
Accused of doing something bad
What happened to the sweet love you and me had?
A dream it seems, not reality

And now she will not answer the phone
Nor Skype nor e-mail, FB friendship gone
No chance of finding harmony

So now I sit here without a song
And wondering what the fuck went wrong
A gaping hole where my heart used to be

copyright Ian Cropton 13 April 2015

2 comments

  1. Opher · April 24, 2015

    Hi Ian

    Finally got here! Looking good. Sad poem. Lovely Avebury. Terrible paedophiles!!!

    All the best

    Opher

    Like

    • eeyorn · April 24, 2015

      Thx Opher. I’m having fun getting to grips with WordPress but its beginning to take shape 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

